About Us

The Department of Computer Science and Automation (CSA) was created in 1969 and was originally called the School of Automation till the mid-eighties. Ever since its inception, the department has been a pioneering academic centre for higher education, research, and innovation in key areas of computer science.

The vision of the department is to enable India’s excellence in the world of computer science and automation. The driving mission for the department is to advance the frontiers of research in computer science and automation and offer world-class pedagogical and research experience to its students. CSA is recognized as a Centre for Advanced Study by the University Grants Commission and has recently been awarded a FIST (Fund for Infrastructure in Science and Technology) grant by the Department of Science and Technology, Government of India. According to the 2013 Academic Ranking of World Universities, IISc Computer Sciences is ranked in the range 51-75.

CSA researchers contribute to cutting-edge research in topical areas of computer science and are actively engaged in many high impact collaborative projects. The faculty members have received numerous awards in recognition of their excellence in research, including the J.C. Bose National Fellowship, IEEE Fellowship, Fellowships of National Academies, Shantiswarup Bhatnagar Award, Swarnajayanti Fellowship, Faculty Awards from global R&D companies, Young Scientist Awards, and Best Paper Awards.

The department attracts talented students from all over India. There are currently 132 research students on roll (96 Ph.D. students, 36 M.Sc. (Engg.) students). All graduates of CSA find excellent placements in research-oriented industries and top ranking global companies.

CSA alumni are at the forefront of research and development in computer science and related fields within India and internationally. The department’s alumni include renowned academicians, leaders in computer and IT industry, distinguished scientists, and trendsetting entrepreneurs.