Aug 2020

Prof. Chiranjib Bhattacharyya takes charge as the Chair of CSA Department.

Arkaprava Basu receives the Pratiksha Trust Young Investigator Award, 2020.

The paper “Best-Fit Bin Packing with Random Order Revisited”, by Arindam Khan, coauthored by Susanne Albers and Leon Ladewig, is one of the 2 submissions receiving the Best Paper Award at the 45th International Symposium on Mathematical Foundations of Computer Science(MFCS) 2020.

Jul 2020

Jayant Haritsa is elected President of ACM India Council.

Bhavana Kanukurthi is promoted to Associate Professor by IISc.

Jun 2020

Arpita Patra selected for Google India AI/ML Research Awards 2020.

She is one amongst five faculty members within India selected for this award.

Arpita Patra is promoted to Associate Professor by IISc. This is a fast track promotion.

May 2020


Ajith Suresh has been selected to participate in 8th Heidelberg Laureate Forum which will be conducted during September 19-24, 2021. This year, only a total of 224 researchers were selected to attend the event.

Apr 2020


Nidhi Rathi has received the distinguished IBM PhD Fellowship Award for 2020


Mar 2020

Shishir N.Y.Kolathaya joins CSA/RBCCPS as Assistant Professor. He joins as a CORE Faculty Member with CSA and a full time Associate Faculty Member with RBCCPS. He received his Ph.D from Georgia Institute of Technology, USA, Subsequently, he was a Postdoc with California Institute of Technology, USA, and a DST INSPIRE Faculty Fellow with RBCCPS, IISc. His research interests are in hybrid robotic systems, safety critical control and applications of learning theory to legged locomotion.

Jan 2020

Shalabh Bhatnagar has been awarded Prof. Rustom Choksi Award for Excellence in Research for Engineering by IISc.

The paper titled “FairRec: Two-Sided Fairness for Personalized Recommendations in Two-Sided Platforms” got accepted at the Web Conference 2020 (WWW) This is a joint work by Arpita Biswas, Gourab K. Patro, Niloy Ganguly, Abhijnan Chakraborty, and Krishna P. Gummadi.

Prof. Shalabh Bhatnagar has been awarded the prestigious J.C. Bose Fellowship.

Joint work of Sambaran Bandyopadhyay, Saley Vishal Vivek, and Narasimha Murty, on Integrating Network Embedding and Community Outlier Detection via Multiclass Graph Description, has been accepted for publication at ECAI 2020 (

Joint work of Sambaran Bandyopadhyay, Anirban Biswas, Harsh Kara and Narasimha Murty, on A Multilayered Informative Random Walk for Attributed Social Network Embedding, has been accepted for publication at ECAI 2020 (

Dec 2019

Chaya Ganesh joins CSA as Assistant Professor. She received her Ph.D from New York University’s Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, USA, and was a postdoc at Aarhus University, Denmark. Her research interests are in cryptography and security.

Gugan Thoppe joins CSA as Assistant Professor. He received his Ph.D from TIFR Bombay and was a postdoc at Technion, Israel and Duke University, USA. His research interests are in stochastic approximation algorithms and random topology.

Prof. Y.N. Srikant has taken over as the Dean of Engineering, IISc.

Nov 2019

Team Sarvatra comprising of members Paarth Gupta, Mohit Gupta, Suman Gupta and Kaustubh Choudhary from CSA, IISc secured first position at India Police Hackathon

Raghuram Bharadwaj is selected for the Centre for Networked Intelligence Ph.D. scholarship award, under the Cisco CSR initiative. He is doing his Ph.D under the guidance of Prof. Shalabh Bhatnagar

1 2 3 4